I work from home as a writer. As someone who writes for a living, I actually need to do some research with every piece that I compose. My editor and ultimately, my clients would be extremely unhappy if I turned in articles that are filled with inaccurate information or baseless speculation. I also happen to be a believer in the cliché that copying from one source is plagiarism, but copying from multiple sources is research. Kidding aside, I could not stress more how important research is for us tasked with putting together words and sentences that actually make sense.

When we do research, it is but normal for us to keep multiple windows open at the same time. There is nothing we hate more than opening just one or a few pages at a time because it really slows things down for us. If we work that way, it will take us forever to finish whatever it is that we are writing about. Still, working on a laptop faces a lot of challenges as far as keeping open multiple pages at the same time is concerned. After all, I only use one screen, and a relatively tiny one at that. Do you really think I can keep open dozens of pages on such a small screen at the same time? That is the biggest reason why I miss working at the office.

You see, our office provides each employee with three monitors each for work. Mounted on a triple LCD monitor stand, these three monitors are largely responsible for the increased productivity the company has been enjoying the past few years. Ever since they invested in more screens, there has been a palpable air of satisfaction among employees, who say having three monitors at the same time is the best thing that ever happened to them at work. I could never agree more. Why do you think I still work at the office two out of five days of the week?

Of course, I can always have the same setup at home if I wanted to. Actually, I want to, but I just could not afford it for now. Buying three LCD monitors and a good CPU is no laughing matter. I may have to save up first before doing anything like that. That day, for sure, will come. Once you have tried working on multiple monitors, there is no going back, I swear.



Leave a Reply.